Gluten Free Hot Cross BunsWe love these gluten free hot cross buns! A staple of every Easter celebration, these traditional sweet buns are topped with a delicious sugar free white frosting.
A freshly baked grain free brioche roll or challah bread is amazing–and that's exactly why we love these gluten free hot cross buns. A staple of every Easter celebration, these traditional almond flour sweet buns have a sugar free white frosting in the shape of a cross on them and are often eaten by folks on Good Friday.
Of course, they're available for anyone to eat anytime and that's why this is just a really great sweet spiced bun to eat for any time of the year even if they are the best holiday dish! Plus, making them celiac friendly means that even more people can eat them at the next get together that you bring these tasty delights to.
We’ll also be walking you through how to decorate up your hot cross buns in different flavors, and how to get creative with these keto bread rolls. Plus, we’ll walk you through some of the history behind this tune-inspiring dish. So crank up the song “Hot Cross Buns” and whistle along as you bake these healthy rolls!
Jump to recipe sections:
Are hot cross buns unhealthy?
Hot cross buns are typically unhealthy as they are packed full of sugar and additives. There aren’t a ton of health benefits to eating hot cross buns. But since they are an Easter dish that comes once a year, it’s always okay to indulge. That said, why not try to make these gluten free hot cross buns from this recipe? They’ll cut a lot of sugars out while still keeping the same traditional taste of a sweet bun.
Are hot cross buns okay for diabetics?
No, hot cross buns are not okay for diabetics. Hot cross buns have a lot of sugar in them due to their white icing in the design of a cross and aren't suitable for diabetics or those who follow low sugar diets. In fact, a lot of breads and baked goods are not as they will spike blood sugar. However, this recipe is gluten free and contains no added sugar, making it perfect for a diabetic lifestyle.
What fruit is in hot cross buns?
The fruit that is in hot cross buns is typically currents, raisins, or sultanas. Hot cross buns also usually contain spices such as nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, cloves, coriander, and ginger. To make hot cross buns that have reduced sugar, cranberries or blueberries are excellent substitutes that keep a similar taste while having significantly less sugar.
Is it okay to replace the dried currants in hot cross buns?
It is completely okay to replace the dried currants in hot cross buns! Why? Because any small, dried fruit will totally work in this recipe. Dried currents can be difficult to find as well as are packed with tons of sugars–even if it’s natural sugar. A great substitute for keto hot cross buns is to use cranberries or other berries, since berries in hot cross buns can keep a similar mouthfeel while having less net carbs. Plus, feel free to not put as much fruit if you’d like to keep the fruit flavor to a minimum. You can always make low carb hot cross buns without any raisins or any fruit substitute at all!
What is the white topping on hot cross buns?
The white topping on hot cross buns is usually made with frosting. The white icing topped onto the bun symbolizes the cross of Jesus Christ, as this is a dish that is typically served in religious settings to celebrate Easter. The best part about hot cross buns is you can truly enjoy them any time, as this is a great recipe for gluten free dinner rolls.
Why do they call them hot cross buns?
People call these bread rolls hot cross buns because they contain a cross on top! But why are they called hot cross buns? Well, that’s because these delicious religious buns were served by street vendors in the 18th century. When they were trying to capture passerby’s attention, they’d call out that they were selling “hot cross buns”, to try and get them to buy some. The reason they said warm was because they thought it would sound more appealing in the cold mornings of early Spring, and that’s the best way to serve these buns: warmed with the white frosting melting into the bready exterior.
Why do we eat hot cross buns at Easter?
We eat hot cross buns at Easter because they are consumed to celebrate the crucifixion of Jesus Christ during Easter. A tradition exists that states that these sweet buns had super powers, and could cure all ills. There is even an old belief that a hot cross bun would not go moldy during the year if you bake the buns on Good Friday!
Why do hot cross buns get stale and hard?
Hot cross buns get stale because if the dough dries, the buns themselves can become tough to bite through or tear. This can happen if the buns are left out too long at room temperature, or if they are not put into an airtight container. Place your fresh bread rolls into an airtight container in the pantry for up to a few days. Remember that gluten free hot cross buns can already be more sensitive, so you really want to store these buns well!
Can you freeze hot cross buns?
You can freeze hot cross buns! Place your fresh bread rolls into an airtight container in the freezer for up to two months. If you do decide to freeze your bread, a good idea is to wrap each one individually in baking paper so that they can be taken out of the container easier, and you can remove one slice/portion to thaw.
Can I flavor hot cross buns?
Yes, you can totally flavor hot cross buns! Some great ideas that you can use as flavor for your buns are chocolate, peanut, chocolate chip, lemon, and honey butter hot cross buns. For chocolate chip buns, use our keto baking chips! For the others, simply take the ingredient and sprinkle on top after the bun is made, like using a sugar free honey or lemon glaze. For chocolate chips and crushed nuts, fold some into the batter before baking and the recipe is as easy as ever!